What Is A Wet Reckless In California?

100 %
0 %
Information about What Is A Wet Reckless In California?
Law

Published on April 23, 2014

Author: AizmanLawFirm

Source: slideshare.net

Description

Overview of a "Wet Reckless" dui plea bargain, penalties and comparison with a DUI.

WHAT IS A “WET RECKLESS” IN CALIFORNIA? Presented By Diana Aizman, Esq.

A “wet reckless” is another name for the charge of reckless driving involving alcohol. VehicleCode23103to23103.5

Principal Use Of “Wet Reckless” • A Wet Reckless is a plea bargain used in a DUI case when prosecutors can’t make a strong case for a DUI conviction. • The driver retains a priorable charge on their driving record in exchange for lesser consequences than a DUI.

When Would A DUI Be Reduced To A “Wet Reckless”? • Low Blood Alcohol Concentration. • Problems with the Breath Testing Instruments Used to Measure Blood Alcohol Concentration. • Prosecutor May Have Problems Proving Driving. • Chain of Custody Issues Involving Blood Testing. • Violation of Title 17 or Other Laws Governing Forensic Blood Alcohol Testing. • Issues Involving Probable Cause But Not Rising to a Blatant Violation of 4th Amendment.

Advantages Of A Wet Reckless vs. DUI Wet Reckless • May Include A Shorter Probation • No Mandatory Minimum Penalty • No Mandatory Drivers License Suspension • Qualifying For An Expungement Faster. • Wet Reckless Looks Better On Your Record. • Can Help You Get Certain Jobs a DUI Would Disqualify You From Receiving • No Requirement For An Ignition Interlock Device in a Pilot County (Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare) • No Mandatory Minimum Penalty • Lighter Penalties For Commercial Drivers Than A DUI DUI • Mandatory Minimum 3 years of Probation and $390 Fine Plus Penalty Assessments • Alcohol Program Required • Minimum 96 Hours County Jail on 2nd Offense and 120 Days Jail on 3rd Offense • 6 Month Drivers License Suspension for 1st Offense • Requirement to Install an Ignition Interlock Device in Pilot County • Loss of Commercial Drivers License for Repeat Offenders

Will My License Be Suspended?

• The court is not required to suspend your license. • However if you lose your DMV hearing your license will be suspended for up to four months.

Penalties • A “Wet Reckless” Has No Statutory Requirements Leaving Open the Options to Negotiate the Terms and Conditions of Probation • Max 90 Days in County Jail • Max $1000 Fine • No Requirement for DUI School • Prosecutor May Require 12 Hour Alcohol Class Available Only to A Wet Reckless Conviction • A Wet Reckless Is Still Considered A Priorable Offense

Diana Aizman, Esq. 818-351-9555 @DianaAizman

Add a comment

Related presentations

This brief presentation covers the concept of 'Fit for purpose' obligation in vari...

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) has met with further hurdles as a DC Court of Appeal...

An impartial and clear mindset is needed when presiding over court proceedings tha...

VONNIS waarbij Hedwig Van Roy niet meer mag zeggen uitvinder te zijn van CLICS. Er...

Constitucional habeas corpus cc liminar

Law

A truly comprehensive estate plan will address the eventualities that you may face...

Related pages

Wet Reckless | DUI California

A Wet Reckless is the nickname for California VC Section 23103 per VC 23013.5 charge of reckless driving involving alcohol.A Wet Reckless is really a ...
Read more

"Wet Reckless" as a Plea Bargain in California DUI Cases

... reduced to 'Wet Reckless', ... a wet reckless; A California DUI typically ... of your "wet" conviction, that wet reckless conviction will ...
Read more

7 Things You Didn't Know About "Wet Reckless" | Vehicle ...

7 Things You Didn’t Know About A “Wet Reckless ... and reaching a favorable plea bargain requires experience within the California criminal law ...
Read more

California DUI Wet Reckless

A California DUI wet reckless charge is somewhat confusing and you must get with a qualifed law firm. ... (DUI) in California, ...
Read more

Reckless Driving - Wet Reckless vs. Dry Reckless - VC 23103

... attorneys explain the difference between a wet reckless and dry reckless in California ... Driving Wet Reckless vs. Dry Reckless California Vehicle ...
Read more

Wet Reckless - California DUI Knowledge Center ...

Wet Reckless or Reckless Driving Involving Alcohol (Priorable as a California DUI)
Read more

California Wet Reckless Driving Penalty - CA DUI Laws ...

Penalties For “Wet” Reckless in California. If you are found guilty or plead guilty or nolo to a reckless driving involving alcohol, ...
Read more

Wet Reckless in California - CA Criminal Laws

Wet Reckless; Wet Reckless in California. ... nor is there a required license suspension. A wet reckless plea will also result in a shorter probationary ...
Read more

Wet Reckless vs. DUI charges - DUI Defense BlogDUI Defense ...

A wet reckless charge is a reduction of a DUI charge which comes with ... California DMV; Our DUI ... 5 Responses to Wet Reckless vs. DUI charges. Dave says:
Read more

DUI or Wet Reckless? | DrivingLaws.org

... “wet reckless,” is used to describe a reduced plea arrangement made by a driver ... DUI or Wet Reckless? ... California Proposition 47 Petition for ...
Read more