Osgood ppt psy101

50 %
50 %
Information about Osgood ppt psy101

Published on April 27, 2014

Author: psy101online

Source: slideshare.net

Created by ETHAN OSGOOD PSY 101 “blockbuster” project FRASIER and the Grieving Process April, 2014

The Kubler-Ross Model: The Grieving Process • The Kubler Ross Model was presented in the 1969 book, On Death and Dying, by Elizabeth Kubler Ross. • Mourning encompasses five universal emotions in response to one’s own terminal illness, death of another person, or even an animal. • One does not move through the stages of grieving in a specific order . Some emotional stages may be more or less intense than others. Many may not live long enough to experience the comfort of acceptance, the final grief stage. • This process is examined in psychology and other areas of mental health to help people understand their own process and better cope with the loss they are suffering. Source: http://psychcentral.com/lib/the-5-stages-of-loss-and-grief/000617

Frasier Crane Exhibits The Five Stages Of Grieving • The 1990’s sitcom Frasier, follows the life of radio talk show psychiatrist, Frasier Crane, who’s character was previously seen in the 1980’s sitcom Cheers. • Frasier is played by actor Kelsey Grammer. • The show is produced by Grub Street Productions • The Episode described here is titled “Good Grief” and appears in season 6, episode 1. 1998.

• Frasier has recently been fired from his radio talk show job. • His actions also resulted in most of his staff being fired as well. • He begins looking for a new job, this turns out to be long search. • Frasier’s brother Niles is a clinical psychiatrist. • Frasier’s father becomes concerned with Frasier’s behavior and alerts Niles. • Frasier’s loss of his job, a job he truly loved, has a big impact on him. THE STORY LINE

The Five Stages

1. Denial “People like Frasier, their whole identity revolves around their job. The loss of a job is like a death. And they cope with it the same way they would with a death, by going through series of stages…I see we are still in denial…” Niles Crane (Frasier’s brother) from “Good Grief” In the denial phase, Frasier takes on many new projects, including writing an operetta.

Niles is correct. The denial phase is a time when people tend to pretend there is nothing wrong, often ignoring or changing facts.

2. Anger At a BBQ Frasier hosts, to make up for getting the staff fired, Frasier learns they are all doing very well, finding new and better jobs. Frasier enters the Anger Phase here. Frasier losses it on a piñata and his cell phone. (Couldn’t find a picture.)

The anger phase usually follows when the denial has worn off or become too difficult to maintain. Anger is often directed at the person who was lost, inanimate objects, family, friends, strangers or even a physician.

3. Bargaining “I’ve been doing a bit of soul searching….Last night I got down on my knees and I prayed for guidance…I asked God, what can I do to get my old life back? And the answer came… take better care of your fans” Frasier, from “Good Grief” Did I happen to mention that Frasier is a bit of an egotistical person? Almost to the point of being delusional. 3 very odd people show up to Frasier’s “fan club” party.

Frasier exhibits bargaining in a classic form, by attempting to make a deal with God. This is a reaction to feeling helpless. It also serves as an attempt to regain some control in a situation that is inevitable.

4. Depression When Frasier’s family and friends express concern about his weight gain and “being stalled in depression,” he eventually breaks down.

Frasier’s breakdown stems from the loss of his perceived celebrity status, which is a funny twist on the true nature of depression in the grieving process. The depression in mourning is often associated with things such as financial issues and a fear that one has not done enough to prepare. More personal, is the depression that comes with saying goodbye.

5. Acceptance Frasier eventually accepts that he is not famous anymore.

Acceptance is a stage that one may not live long enough to experience. Also, it is not necessarily associated with happiness, as we see in this episode of Frasier. It is more often characterized by calm and withdrawal. In this way it differs subtly from depression.

This episode of Frasier is funny parody on the grieving process and serves as an entertaining, although not entirely accurate, example of the five stages. Frasier is not actually grieving a death of anyone real, but rather his own ego mourns the loss of his merely perceived celebrity status. CONCLUSION

Watch the entire episode here: http://youtu.be/eErJeOYduME *Resources: • http://psychcentral.com/lib/the-5-stages-of-loss-and- grief/000617

Add a comment

Related pages

Understanding Psychology Charles Morris Pdf PDF - Ebook Market

Understanding Psychology Charles Morris Pdf downloads at Ebookmarket.org - Download free pdf files,ebooks and documents - Understanding Psychology Morris -...
Read more

Welcome to Estrella Mountain

PSY101 Introduction to Psychology GCU121 World Geography I: Eastern Hemisphere GCU122 World Geography II: Western Hemisphere ECN211 Macroeconomic Principles
Read more

Welcome to Estrella Mountain

PSY101 Introduction to Psychology GCU121 World Geography I: Eastern Hemisphere GCU122 World Geography II: Western Hemisphere ECN211 Macroeconomic Principles
Read more