Published on February 27, 2014
Mandalay is the second-largest city and the last royal capital of Burma. When it was founded in 1857, the royal city was officially named Yadanabon, the Burmese version of "(city) full of gems".
Shwenandaw Monastery (lit. "Golden Palace Monastery") is a historic Buddhist monastery located near Mandalay Hill. Shwenandaw Monastery was built in 1880 by King Thibaw Min, who dismantled and relocated the apartment formerly occupied by his father, King Mindon Min, just before Mindon Min's death, at a cost of 120,000 rupees. Thibaw removed the building in October 1878, believing it to be haunted by his father's spirit. The building was reconstructed as a monastery over the course of 5 years, dedicated in memory of his father, on a plot adjoining Atumashi Monastery.
Shwenandaw Monastery meaning “Golden Palace Monastery” is of great interest not only as a fine example of a traditional Myanmar wooden monastery, but as a fragile reminder of the old Mandalay Fort.
At one time this building was part of the palace complex and was used as an apartment by King Mindon and his chief queen..
After Mindon’s death, King Thibaw Min had the building dismantled and reassembled on its present site in 1880 as a monastery.
It is said Thibaw used building meditation, the couch which he sat still be seen. that the for and on can
Shwenandaw Monastery (meaning “Golden Palace Monastery”) is famous for its beautiful woodcarvings.
This wooden monastery is carved all over with motifs and mythical creatures. It was once entirely covered in thick gold, but only the interior gold remains due to harshness of the tropical weather.
Known as Shwe Nan Daw Kyaung of Golden Palace Monastery, it is commonly called as the Shwe Kyaung (Golden Monastery), since the whole building was heavily gilded
This monastery has neither a hyapa-saung (Buddha Image Shrine Room) nor a baw-ga-saung (Store Room). The whole building was heavily gilt and adorned with glass mosaic and exquisite wood-carving. The building has considerable deteriorated but the carvings within it, especially the ten Great Jakata scenes remain well preserved.
Swe Nan Daw Kyaung is famous because it is the only place building which left from the world War II destruction in wich Royal Palace was burnt in March 1945, and also the 19th century tipical Myanmar Traditional wood-carving.
Some of the outer carvings have been prised off and removed being damaged by the weather. Inside the monastery, there are 10 Jataka scenes taken from the Buddha’s life. These are still in a very good condition
Conservation works for the Shwe Nan Daw Kyaung Monastery, one of Mandalay’s most iconic historical structures, officially began with a ribbon-cutting ceremony at the site in Burma’s cultural capital. Funds for the conservation project will come from the US Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation, in coordination with Burma’s Ministry of Culture and with expertise provided by the World Monuments Fund.US Ambassador to Burma Derek Mitchell, center, cuts a ribbon to mark the start of conservation works on the Shwe Nan Daw Kyaung Monastery in Mandalay on 14 february 2014
Text: Internet Pictures: Sanda Foişoreanu & Internet Copyright: All the images belong to their authors Presentation: Sanda Foişoreanu www.slideshare.net/michaelasanda Sound Mar Mar Aye - May You Have Conquest and Possession