Learn About Car Accident Laws in North Carolina

50 %
50 %
Information about Learn About Car Accident Laws in North Carolina

Published on December 14, 2016

Author: disabilitylawmarketing

Source: slideshare.net

1. Learn About Car Accident Laws in North Carolina Car accidents can be unnerving, especially if you’re involved in one. However, knowing the laws that are associated with car accidents in your state is a one way to relieve some of stress you feel. If you are involved in a car accident in North Carolina, knowing some laws and statutes will help you know exactly what to do following the accident. Statute of Limitations If you plan on filing a civil lawsuit or insurance claim as a result of your accident, you must be aware of the statute of limitations for such an action. The state of North Carolina allows three years from the time of your accident to file a lawsuit for injuries sustained in the crash or damage done to your vehicle. If you wait

2. even one day beyond the three-year limit, it is unlikely that the court will hear your case. Car Insurance As with most states, North Carolina requires all drivers to carry valid and current insurance coverage for motor vehicles. The minimum amount of insurance for drivers in North Carolina is $25,000 for injury or death to a single person, $60,000 for total damages stemming from the accident, and $25,000 for vehicle or property damage caused by the accident. The state also requires drivers to carry uninsured driver’s insurance and underinsured driver’s insurance in some cases. Comparative Fault Comparative fault for an accident occurs when it is determined that more than one party is responsible for a traffic accident. North Carolina has a strict rule known as “contributory negligence” that states any driver who is found to be at fault for any part of an accident cannot receive compensation for damages. In some exceptions to this rule, a person who sustained damage from an accident can receive a portion of the loss that is comparative to the level of culpability he or she holds. For example, if $10,000 worth of damage was sustained, but you were found to be 10% at fault, you might only be rewarded 90% of the value, which is $9,000. However, in these instances, you may not be more than 49% at fault to receive compensation for your loss. Caps on Damages North Carolina also has laws in place that set limits on how much money can be awarded for injuries that were sustained in a car accident. The ceiling for punitive damages derived from any injury, including those sustained in car accidents, is $250,000. As the old saying goes, knowledge is power. If you get into a car accident in North Carolina, keep these laws in mind. If you have any questions regarding these laws

3. or need further information, please contact Clauson Law. We are here to help you. Article Source: http://clausonlaw.com/auto-accident/learn-car-accident-laws- north-carolina/

Add a comment

Related pages

Car Accident Laws in North Carolina | by Nolo

Car Accident Laws in North Carolina. This article looks at a few key North Carolina laws related to car accident lawsuits ... Learn more about Proving Fault for a Car ...
Read more

Your Charlotte Car Accident: The Basics - State Laws

... aspects and information about your accident, including North Carolina laws regarding auto ... Learn About the Law; ... Laws Your Charlotte Car Accident: The ...
Read more

North Carolina Car Accident Resources and Statutes

North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers: Find an experienced North Carolina Car Accident Attorney at AttorneyPages.com. Article: How a Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help
Read more

North Carolina Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

North Carolina Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage. $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons ...
Read more

North Carolina Accident and Injury Laws - FindLaw

FindLaw » Learn About The Law » State Laws » North ... Click a link below to learn more about North Carolina accident and injury laws. ... Laws. North Carolina Car ...
Read more

Car Accident Cases in North Carolina | Rosensteel ...

Personal injury attorney discusses the law regarding car accidents in North Carolina ... one to learn about you, your ... across North Carolina in a variety of car ...
Read more

North Carolina Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations | by Nolo

Maryland Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations; Car Accident ... North Carolina Auto Insurance Laws and ... article Car Accident Laws in North Carolina. ...
Read more

Raleigh Car Accident Lawyers | Riddle & Brantley, LLP

Get the answers to frequently asked questions about car accident law. ... furnished by North Carolina ... Learn How Car Accident Trials Work in North ...
Read more

Car Accident Property Damage Claims - Charlotte Attorneys ...

We help car accident victims in Charlotte and ... Buying A New Car: North Carolina law only requires insurance ... Learn More About Car Accidents In North ...
Read more

Settling Your Car Accident Case | Raleigh Auto Accident ...

... NC Hardison and Cochran Attorneys at Law can help you settle your car accident ... Successfully Settling Your Car Accident ... Our North Carolina Car Accident ...
Read more