InternetCareerResear ch

50 %
50 %
Information about InternetCareerResear ch
Education

Published on January 23, 2008

Author: Tommaso

Source: authorstream.com

Researching Careers on the Internet:  Researching Careers on the Internet Katrina McPherson The Career Centre @ Western UCC Room 210 kmcpher@uwo.ca www.career.uwo.ca Outline:  Outline Three Kinds of Career Information: Information about occupations/careers Information about employers/companies Information about job opportunities Career Planning Process:  Career Planning Process 1. Researching Careers Why Research Careers?:  1. Researching Careers Why Research Careers? Discover possible career options Make informed decisions about entering a career Find out what education/skills are required Enhance interviewing ability 1. Researching Careers University Sites:  1. Researching Careers University Sites The Career Centre @ Western www.career.uwo.ca Departments/Faculties Sites at Western www.uwo.ca/academic 1. Researching Careers Independent Career Sites:  1. Researching Careers Independent Career Sites Career Cruising www.careercruising.com 1. Researching Careers Canadian Government Sites:  1. Researching Careers Canadian Government Sites National Occupational Classification http://www23.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca Job Futures http://jobfutures.ca 1. Researching Careers Professional Association Sites:  1. Researching Careers Professional Association Sites Find out if your chosen career has a professional association, for example, OLA Ontario Library Association, RAIC Royal Architectural Institute of Canada 1. Researching Careers Where Could I Study?:  1. Researching Careers Where Could I Study? School Finder www.schoolfinder.com Canadian Association of Universities & Colleges http://oraweb.aucc.ca/showdcu.html 2. Researching Employers Why Research Employers?:  2. Researching Employers Why Research Employers? Make an informed decision when applying to a company Find out what skills/personal qualities recruiters are looking for Enhance interviewing ability 2. Researching Employers Do you Believe What You Read?:  2. Researching Employers Do you Believe What You Read? Evaluating Websites: Authority - Reliable source? Accuracy - Typo’s? Grammar? Currency - Last updated? Objectivity - Independent source? - Company source? 2. Researching Employers Canadian Government Sites:  2. Researching Employers Canadian Government Sites Canadian Labour Market Information: www.labourmarketinformation.ca Service Canada: www.servicecanada.gc.ca Canada Business: http://canadabusiness.gc.ca 2. Researching Employers Company/Organization Sites:  2. Researching Employers Company/Organization Sites You can find these sites using: Online directories of organizations (examples on next slide) Internet Search Engines, e.g. www.google.ca 2. Researching Employers Commercial Online Directories:  2. Researching Employers Commercial Online Directories London Employers London Chamber of Commerce www.londonchamber.com Information London http://info.london.on.ca London Economic Development Corp. www.londonedc.com 2. Researching Employers Commercial Online Directories:  2. Researching Employers Commercial Online Directories Bizweb www.bizweb.com Hoovers www.hoovers.com Vault www.vault.com 3. Finding Jobs Why Search for Job Postings?:  3. Finding Jobs Why Search for Job Postings? Find available positions Assess demand for a chosen career Identify companies who are hiring Identify recruiters’ expectations (read job descriptions) 3. Finding Jobs Where Could We Search?:  3. Finding Jobs Where Could We Search? The Career Centre @ Western Job Listings Professional Association Websites Internet Job Boards Newspaper Classifieds Company Websites Government Programs 3. Finding Jobs Western’s Job Listings:  3. Finding Jobs Western’s Job Listings The Career Centre @ Western www.career.uwo.ca Username: student number Password: birth date (YYMMDD) 3. Finding Jobs Tap the “Hidden Job Market”?:  3. Finding Jobs Tap the “Hidden Job Market”? 3. Finding Jobs Government Websites:  3. Finding Jobs Government Websites Jobs Etc www.jobsetc.ca HRSDC Job Bank www.jobbank.gc.ca 3. Finding Jobs Government Programs:  3. Finding Jobs Government Programs Career Edge www.careeredge.ca Youth Employment Strategy www.youth.gc.ca 3. Finding Jobs Company/Organization Sites:  3. Finding Jobs Company/Organization Sites Organizations often post jobs directly on their own websites. You can find these sites using: Internet Search Engines, e.g. www.google.ca Directories of Organizations 3. Finding Jobs Online Security/Privacy:  3. Finding Jobs Online Security/Privacy ALWAYS review the privacy statement NEVER give out your SIN Beware of reverse spamming Beware of corporate espionage 3. Finding Jobs London Job Boards:  3. Finding Jobs London Job Boards Operation Donkey Orange http://www.donkeyorange.com/london_jobs KnightHunter www.knighthunter.com London ON and Area Jobs www3.sympatico.ca/apuchti/jobs.html 3. Finding Jobs Famous Job Boards:  3. Finding Jobs Famous Job Boards Workopolis http://campus.workopolis.com (Western’s Access Code: jobsforyou) Monster www.monster.com (Western’s password: N6A3K7) 3. Finding Jobs Directories of Newspapers:  3. Finding Jobs Directories of Newspapers The Workplace www.theworkplace.ca Online Newspapers www.onlinenewspapers.com/canada.htm World Newspapers www.world-newspapers.com/canada.html 3. Finding Jobs Is That a Good Salary Offer?:  3. Finding Jobs Is That a Good Salary Offer? Canadian Labour Market Information www.labourmarketinformation.ca Wageweb www.wageweb.com The Web is Not the Only Way to Go:  The Web is Not the Only Way to Go The Career Centre @ Western, UCC 210 519 661-3559 Career Counselling Employment Help Centre (M-F 2-4pm) Workshops Networking Events (Employer visits, Fairs) Resource Library Questions?:  Questions?

Add a comment

Related presentations