Dgroups 2013 review

100 %
0 %
Information about Dgroups 2013 review

Published on February 21, 2014

Author: dgroups

Source: slideshare.net

Description

Presentation by Neil Pakenham-Walsh and Rob Witte at the Dgroups Annual Partners Meeting - 16 January 2014

Dgroups: Review of 2013 Neil Pakenham-Walsh & Rob Witte Dgroups Chair & Treasurer/Secretary 16 January 2014

Outline  Dgroups Partners  Work Areas 1. Platform improvement 2. Service reliability 3. Peer exchange and training 4. Engagement with current partners 5. Marketing and outreach 6. Governance and administration  Other: M&E, IDS Linked Open Data  Finance (Rob)

Dgroups Partners (31 Dec 2013)  Alfa Redi  CIDSE  Department for International Development (DFID), UK  ECDPM  Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)  Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA)  (Helvetas)  Humanist Institute for Co-operation with Developing Countries (Hivos)  ICCO  International Institute for Communication and Development (IICD)  International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP)  Natural Resources Institute (NRI)  RWSN – Rural Water Supply Network  SAP International  SDC  Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)  UNECA New partners 0 Leavers 1

Work area 1: Platform improvement 2013 Objectives  We shall continue to improve the platform through a user-driven process. Achieved: 6/10  We shall ensure that all requests and ideas for functionality improvements raised through the [redesign] discussion group are monitored and made freely available to all users. Achieved: 10/10  We shall assess the feasibility (or otherwise) and provide progress updates on each request. Achieved: 10/10  We shall explore how Dgroups can take advantage of mobile opportunities, through apps and a mobile interface of Dgroups as well as email-SMS integration. Achieved: 7/10

Functionality requests [redesign] 34 members 20 requests Kristin  Viewing the web archive (6)  Delivery of email messages, formatting and content (5)  Moderation (4)  Visual design (1)  Monitoring and evaluation (1)  Terminology (2)

Functionality requests (cont’d) Resolved, added or much improved: Edit welcome mail Colour theme selection Calendar date sorting Subject encoding. Top 3 issues, not yet resolved: 1. Option to auto-approve or manually approve moderator contributions 2. "Make public" function not working? (is not saved) 3. Messages in a thread are not always filed together on the web archive. Need to improve help guide (adapt RWSN Dgroups guide to Generic).

Work area 2: Service reliability 2013 Objectives Working with WA-Research:  We shall maintain service reliability at or very near to 100%. Achieved: 10/10  We shall increase our disaster preparedness, so that normal service is maintained in the event of disaster (eg technical breakdown, illness, injury). Achieved: 6/10

Work area 3: CoP training & Peer Exchange 2013 Objectives  We shall introduce a peer support or training programme on how to establish, maintain and moderate online communities. Achieved: 2/10  We shall continue to organize regular online peer exchange sessions (1 each quarter) on “How to make the most of Dgroups” where Dgroups partners and administrators present their experience. Achieved: 5/10  We shall publish regular blog posts, presentations and recordings on the Dgroups Foundation website (www.dgroups.info) Achieved: 7/10

Work area 4. Engagement with current partners 2013 Objectives  We shall encourage members to make full use of their membership, including the possibility to create Dgroups for affiliated organizations. Achieved: 6/10  We shall maintain regular communications with all our Partners, through 1-to-1 calls (at least 2 times per year).Achieved: 8/10

Work area 5: Marketing and outreach 2013 Objectives  We shall continue to develop and improve the Dgroups Foundation website (www.dgroups.info) Achieved: 8/10  We shall recruit new paying members – We aim to have 40 members by 2015. Achieved: 0/10  We shall produce publicity material – Leaflet downloadable from website, in different languages. Achieved: 6/10

Work area 6: Governance and administration 2013 Objectives  We shall amend the Dgroups Statutes to allow expansion of the Board as needed, and more flexibility. Achieved: 10/10  We shall improve Board representation – Ideally, equal representations for gender and geographical location of Board members Achieved: 6/10

Other Monitoring and Evaluation Statistics (Impact) IDS Open Linked Data proposal Adrian Bannister News from Partners?

Profit and loss account 2012 Really 2.012 Budget 2.012 Really 2.011 Net Turnover Membership fees Amounts due from previous year intrest on savings account 62.000 0 517 62.517 88.000 0 1.000 89.000 69.300 0 848 70.148 55.000 0 18.480 2.429 0 0 -13.392 55.000 5.000 20.000 4.560 4.000 0 440 55.000 0 20.844 4.048 4.000 0 -13.744 62.517 89.000 70.148 0 0 0 Costs Hosting services WA-Research Investment in new/improved features Outsourcing coördination Organisation costs Depreciation Capacity development To continuity reserve 75.909 Result

Balance sheet as at 31 December 2012 December, 31 Balance sheet a December, 31 January, 1 LIABILITIES ASSETS Equity 0 Appropriated reserve Continuity reserve 0 Financial fixed assets 0 Tangible fixed assets 0 Current assets Debtors current account Icco Other receivables 10.000 0 517 23.017 35.936 848 0 76.872 63.481 76.872 0 8.958 5.989 8.958 69.470 85.831 49.895 35.087 58.953 TOTAL ASSETS 0 63.481 Current liabilkities Prepaid membership fee 4.000 Other liabilities 1.989 0 0 848 10.517 Securities Triodosbank 39.01.86.473 Triodosbank:220.52.30.328 January, 1 84.983 69.470 85.831 TOTAL LIABILITIES

Add a comment

Related presentations

Related pages

dgroups - Dgroups

The Dgroups.org website was down over the weekend, apparently due to a temporary technical problem with the Internet Service Provider, which is now fixed.
Read more

Dgroups review, priorities and action plan 2014 - Dgroups

Dgroups review, priorities and action plan 2014. February 22, 2014 ... The Dgroups Board presented a review of 2013 activities and 2012 finances.
Read more

Meeting the information needs of healthcare providers in LMICs

Meeting the information needs of healthcare providers in LMICs ... Dgroups Foundation 2013-present 2 . ... a literature review with a focus on
Read more

Introducing new Dgroups Board Member: Giacomo Rambaldi ...

Rome, September 2011 - New Dgroups Board member Giacomo Rambaldi (CTA) explains why his organisations has decided to take an active role in the ...
Read more

Google Groups

Google Groups allows you to create and participate in online forums and email-based groups with a rich experience for community conversations.
Read more

Yahoo! Groups

Eine Erweiterung deines Freundeskreises, deiner Interessen und deiner Öffentlichkeit. Neuheiten: siehe Video. Anmelden; ODER; Eine neue Group ...
Read more

Report on the FAO Regional Workshop on the Development of ...

FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Report No. 1050 FIRF/R1050 (En) FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS Rome, 2013
Read more

2013 Annual Report - International Union for Conservation ...

2013 Annual Report to the Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi Framework Support for Implementing the Strategic Plan of the IUCN Species Survival Commission
Read more