3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf)

63 %
38 %
Information about 3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf)
Technology

Published on February 28, 2014

Author: jeffreylancaster

Source: slideshare.net

Description

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pdf file doesn't have all of the images/transitions, but a pptx file is also available.

3D Printing Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster

3D Printing is easy, 3D Modeling is hard.

How it works

idea object model machine code

Object

Cartesian Coordinates z y x

z x y

Fused Filament Fabrication also with “sacrificial” materials

Other Fabrication Methods: Powder Bed Printing

Other Fabrication Methods: Photocured Resin

Other Fabrication Methods: CNC Milling

Machine Code

Makerware

.stl, .obj  G-code!

Submission 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu

Model

@ DSC! 3D Studio Max! AutoCAD! Blender! Maya! Rhino3D! SketchUp!

OpenSCAD!

123D Design!

123D Catch!

RBML #14: A Rounded Urn!

Chinese bronze vessel! www.123dapp.com/obj-Catch/2014-2-14-13-19-35/2125499

Henry Moore – Three-Way Piece, Points, 1964-65!

Clement Meadmore – Curl, 1968!

Thingiverse!

Common Design Issues

Overlap/Angle!

Closed/Watertight Form!

Single Manifold! willit3dprint.com

3D Printing in Art

Markus Kayser: Glass from Sand + Solar Power markuskayser.com

Tom Burtonwood: Open Source Art History! tomburtonwood.com

Hacking the Met!

Cosmo Wenman: Scanning Sculpture! cosmowenman.wordpress.com/‎

Sophie Kahn: Old + New! sophiekahn.net

Instrument Design! cubify.com/blog/a-3d-printed-acoustic-guitar

Alicia Framis: Visualizing Sound! aliciaframis.com

Jurgen Mayer: 3D Modeling for Architecture! jmayerh.de

Janne Kyttanen: Arts and Manufacture! jannekyttanen.com

Custom Insoles: Arts and Manufacture! sols.co

Jan Habraken: Arts and Manufacture! formnation.com

Barry X Ball: Hacking and Remixing ! Boccioni, 1913 barryxball.com

Richard Dupont: Hacking and Remixing! richarddupont.com

Michael Schmidt: Art + Fashion! michaelschmidtstudios.com

Continuum Fashion: Art + Fashion! shapeways.com/n12_bikini

Heather Dewey-Hagborg: DNA Visualization! deweyhagborg.com

3D Printing in Art History & Archaeology

Modes of Representation! mediterraneanworld.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/closing-gaps-with-low-cost-3d/

Rebuilding Lost Objects! p3d.in/oJZFm/shadeless

Tim Trombley! 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu/?cat=20

Future of 3D Printing

Houses in Concrete!

Biomedical Engineering!

Medicine!

Food in Space!

Desktop vs. Industrial!

Questions? Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster

In Research

Chemistry!

Physics/Optics!

Add a comment

Related presentations

Related pages

14 Ways 3D Printing Has Changed The Art World

... it seems no corner of the art world remains untouched by 3D printing's growing ... On Our Radar Art Meets Science 3D Printing 3D Printer.
Read more

1980s A BRIEF HISTORY OF 3D PRINTING - T.Rowe Price

A BRIEF HISTORY OF 3D PRINTING The inception of 3D printing can be traced back to 1976, when the inkjet printer was invented. In 1984,
Read more

3D PRINTING BOOKLET FOR BEGINNERS - Metropolitan Museum of Art

3D PRINTING BOOKLET FOR BEGINNERS ... File format that we use for 3D printing is STL ... This is one example to explore reproduction art.
Read more

Art & Sculpture Archives - 3D Printing Industry

3D Printing; 3D Scanners; 3D Software; ... Art & Sculpture 2 weeks ago. ... art and even construction thanks to the Highcon Shape, ...
Read more

3D Printing for Retailers | Leapfrog 3D Printers

3D Printing for Retailers. How would it be if the designs of your imagination, were no longer just in your imagination? 3D printing will turn your ...
Read more

3d printing in telemedicine - Healthcare - documents.mx

3D printing has raised a lot of attention from fields outside the manufacturing one in the last years. ... Art & Photos; Automotive; Business; Career; Data ...
Read more

Professional 3D Printers | 3D Systems

3D Systems the leader in consumer and industrial 3D printing and manufacturing ... fine art or other sculptural ... and 3D Systems 3D printing, ...
Read more

3d street painting pavement painting chalk art

3D street painting illusions done in chalk by Madonnaro Manfred Stader.
Read more

Generate 3D PDF - Convert 3D CAD CAE Geospatial | PDF3D

The tools of choice when converting complex 3D data into rich, interactive 3D PDF technical documents for easy, ... PDF3D, leaders in 3D PDF conversion, ...
Read more